Sunday, October 14, 2012

East Orange Churches in the Early 20th Century









Above and below: Arlington Avenue Presbyterian Church at the NW corner of North Arlington Avenue and Springdale Avenue




Above and below: Disciples of Christ Church at the corner of 17th St and Park Avenue





Below: The earlier Disciples of Christ Church on a postcard postmarked 1908


                                            Above: Christ Church (Episcopal) on Main Street









Below: Brick Church









Below: Saint Johns Chapel (organized in 1851)

 Above and below: Sanford Street Methodist Episcopal Church; the church was on the west side of Sanford near the Central Avenue/Sanford Street intersection and was built between 1895 and about 1905.
                                    
                           

                                         Above and below: Calvary Methodist Episcopal Church


              Above: the church with its front addition that was built between 1904 and 1911

                                           Below: the church before the addition





Above: Hawthorne Avenue Baptist Church




Above and below: Park Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church at the NW corner of the Park Avenue/North Grove Street intersection












The church was organized in 1882







Above: First Church of Christ Scientist, 154 North Oraton Parkway

Below: Sacred Heart Cathedral in center distance as seen from the Lincoln-Mayflower Building in 1922 (not East Orange, but only a mile from Stockton School)






Below: Bethel Presbyterian Church on the NW corner of Midland Avenue and Dodd Street 






St. Paul's on the NE corner of Prospect and Renshaw




                  Above: Trinity Congregational Church on South Harrison Street; built about 1893

Below: original Trinity Congregational Church on South Harrison built about 1872; Brick Church on Main                                                    Street can be seen in left background


Below: From History of the Oranges 1921





Hotel Edgemere

The Hotel Edgemere was a boarding hotel on William Street between Winans Street and North Walnut Street. It was built between 1895 and 1911 and was around the corner from East Orange High School which was on Winans St. In 1895 there was a large frame house shown as a "dwelling" on the 1895 Sanborn insurance map and it appears that the dwelling was expanded and modified to be the hotel that we see on 1911 maps and early 20th century postcard views. 













                                          Image below is from a 1911 Sanborn insurance map

Below: image of the property on an 1895 Sanborn map


Tuesday, October 2, 2012

Stockton Neighborhood Streets: Early 20th Century

Above: view looks north on Greenwood Ave. with William crossing in front of photographer; Stockton School is on photographer's right.

Below: 21st Street shown in this photo later was renamed Stockton Place; View is looking south on 21st toward William Street


Below: Park Avenue east of Grove Street












Above: Vernon Terrace north from William Street

Below: Grove Street north from William Street


Above: Grove Street south of William Street

Above and below: Greenwood Avenue and 19th Street








Below: 17th Street north from William Street



Above: Munn Avenue

Above: looking west across Greenwood Avenue; tall storage building was built about 1912 shortly before the photo was taken and in the mid-1950's it was Mayflower Storage

Above: New Street and Maple Avenue